Frequently Asked Questions about your Aeolian Islands vacation

Where are the Aeolian islands?

The Aeolian archipelago consists of seven islands of volcanic origin, situated along Sicily’s north-east coast, in the Tyrrhenian sea: Lipari, Salina, Vulcano, Panarea, Stromboli, Filicudi and Alicudi.

Lipari is the largest island of the archipelago; administratively all the islands belong to the Lipari Commune, except for Salina island divided into three own Communes: Santa Marina Salina, Malfa and Leni.

aeolian islands map

How to reach the Aeolian Islands

aeolian islands ferriesThe Aeolian islands are reachable through hydrofoils and ferries. The closest port to the archipelago in the mainland is Milazzo, that makes possible maritime connections with the islands all year round.
A scheduled ferry from Naples, also during the winter, allows maritime connection with the archipelago twice a week. There are, during summer season, hydrofoil daily route from/to Messina, Reggio Calabria, Palermo and Naples. The closest airports to the archipelago are Catania, Reggio Calabria and Palermo.

From Catania airport it is possible to reach Messina or Milazzo by scheduled buses

Are there any limitations to reach the Aeolians by cars?

The incoming and the circulation by cars for peoples not resident in the archipelago are forbidden from June untill September, except for those who have  bookings for accommodation facility for at least seven days.

Which types of health facilities are there in the Aeolians?

Lipari is the only one of the seven islands which has a public hospital,  with an emergency room. In the other islands there are local emergency care facilities.